New York LGBTQ Democratic club endorses Cynthia Nixon for governor

By  on June 13, 2018

New York LGBTQ Democratic club endorses Cynthia Nixon for governor

Photo: Cynthia for New York / Screenshot

A top New York City LGBTQ Democratic club has endorsed Cynthia Nixon over incumbent Andrew Cuomo in the upcoming gubernatorial primary.

According to the New York Post, Nixon won the support of two-thirds of voting members of the Jim Owles Liberal Democratic Club, which describes itself as the “citywide progressive LGBT” club.

Cuomo garnered 29% of the vote, and 5% of the voting members voted not to endorse either candidate.

The club, which has a history of supporting anti-establishment candidates, also overwhelmingly endorsed Jumaane Williams for lieutenant governor over incumbent Kathy Hochul, a former congresswoman from western New York who was Cuomo’s running mate. 

The club endorsed Public Advocate Letitia James for state attorney general and incumbent state comptroller Tom DiNapoli.

Both Nixon, who is bisexual but married to a woman, and Cuomo, a longtime ally of the LGBTQ community, have been trying to compete for LGBTQ voters. But Jim Owles President Allen Roskoff says club members view Nixon as more committed to progressive values.

“Cynthia is cutting edge and she’s going to push the envelope,” Roskoff said.

While Roskoff acknowledged that Cuomo has passed several policies that are favorable to the LGBTQ community, he has also angered progressives with some of his other actions.

Specifically, Roskoff pointed to Cuomo’s enabling of the IDC, a group of dissident Democrats who had aligned themselves with Republicans, thereby giving the GOP control of the State Senate and ensuring the defeat of progressive legislation.

Cuomo still has an opportunity to win the backing of the Stonewall Democratic Club of NYC, the city’s oldest LGBTQ political club, which has generally been more loyal to incumbents. The group endorsed Cuomo in 2014, and will hold an endorsement meeting in July.

Several LGBTQ politicians, as well as national LGBTQ groups, have also been drawn into the fight between Nixon and Cuomo by being asked to take a side. But many are reticent to be seen as working against Cuomo, worrying that, should he win the primary as expected, they will lose their ability to influence him and push for other pro-LGBTQ reforms.

The race quickly turned nasty shortly after Nixon announced her candidacy in March, with former New York City Council Speaker and Cuomo backer Christine Quinn, herself an out lesbian, called the former Sex and the City actress an “unqualified lesbian.” Quinn later apologized for the comment, saying she did not intend to make Nixon’s sexuality the issue, but still felt Nixon lacked the qualifications to be governor.

The Human Rights Campaign previously endorsed Cuomo in January, prior to Nixon entering the race, citing the governor’s “proven track record” on LGBTQ rights, including signing marriage equality into law, fighting for transgender non-discrimination protections, effectively banning conversion therapy through insurance reforms, and pushing for greater HIV testing and access to pre-exposure prophylaxis for low-income New Yorkers to combat the spread of HIV/AIDS.

The LGBTQ Victory Fund, which endorses viable LGBTQ candidates for office, has not yet endorsed Nixon, but welcomed her to apply for the group’s endorsement.

“We always welcome LGBTQ candidates — especially LGBTQ women candidates — as they provide unique and important perspectives that voters should hear,” Elliot Imse, the director of communications for the Victory Fund, said in a statement. “We consider all applicants for endorsement based on the same criteria. They must be LGBTQ and advocate equality for our entire community, they must support reproductive freedom, and they must be viable — meaning they have a reasonable path to victory.”



  1. Hon. Eric Adams
  2. George Arzt
  3. Lance Bass
  4. Charles Bayor
  5. John Blair
  6. Mark Benoit
  7. Hon. Rodneyse Bichotte
  8. Hon. Jonathan Bing
  9. Erik Bottcher
  10. Hon. Gale Brewer
  11. Danny Burstein
  12. Robin Byrd
  13. Christian Campbell
  14. Gus Christensen
  15. Hon. Martin Connor
  16. Tom Connor
  17. Hon. Jon Cooper
  18. Wilson Cruz
  19. Hon. Laurie Cumbo
  20. Alan Cumming
  21. Michael Czaczkes
  22. Hon. Bill de Blasio
  23. Aries Dela Cruz
  24. Jon Del Giorno
  25. Kyan Douglas
  26. James Duff
  27. Hon. Ronnie Eldridge
  28. Hon. Rafael Espinal
  29. Hon. Alan Fleishman
  30. Hon. Dan Garodnick
  31. Dan Gettleman
  32. Jason Goldman
  33. Emily Jane Goodman
  34. Hon. Mark Green
  35. Tony Hoffmann
  36. Hon. Brad Hoylman
  37. Binn Jakupi
  38. Hon. Letitia James
  39. Hon. Corey Johnson
  40. Camille Joseph
  41. Phillip Keane
  42. Yetta Kurland
  43. Dodge Landesman
  44. Chris Marchitello
  45. Phillip McCarthy
  46. Matt McMorrow
  47. Michael Mallon
  48. Mike C. Manning
  49. David Mansur
  50. Cathy Marino-Thomas
  51. Troy Masters
  52. Hon. Carlos Menchaca
  53. Hon. Rosie Mendez
  54. John Cameron Mitchell
  55. Donny Moss
  56. Barry Mullineaux
  57. Hon. Paul Newell
  58. Denis O'Hare
  59. America Olivo Campbell
  60. Noah Pfefferbilt
  61. Josue Pierre
  62. Bob Pontarelli
  63. Billy Porter
  64. Hon. Keith Powers
  65. Randy Rainbow
  66. Hon. Jenifer Rajkumar
  67. Hon. Gustavo Rivera
  68. Hon. Helen Rosenthal
  69. Maer Roshan
  70. Toby Russo
  71. Bill Samuels
  72. James Sansum
  73. Scott Sartiano
  74. Hon. Arthur Schwartz
  75. Lynn Schulman
  76. Frank Selvaggi
  77. Rev. Al Sharpton
  78. David Siffert
  79. Hon. Jo Anne Simon
  80. Kathy Slawinski
  81. Tom Smith
  82. Anne Strahle
  83. Hon. Scott Stringer
  84. Wayne Sunday
  85. Hon. Bill Thompson
  86. JD Thompson
  87. Bjorn Thorstad
  88. Hon. Matt Titone
  89. Jessica Walter
  90. Patricia Nell Warren
  91. Barry Weinberg
  92. Seth Weissman
  93. Hon. Jumaane Williams
  94. Emma Wolfe
  95. Hon. Keith Wright
  96. Zephyr Teachout