Jim Owles Democratic club calls 5 former breakaway Dems 'toads' in new mailers


September 9, 2018

Front Page, left, of a mailer from the Jim Owles Liberal Democratic Club (Obtained by New York Daily News)


ALBANY — A group of former breakaway state Democrats are being blasted as “toads” in new mailers from an influential New York City Democratic club.

The Jim Owles Liberal Democratic Club sent the mailers into the districts of five of the eight Senate Democrats who until April were aligned with the Republicans.

“If you found a toad in your breakfast cereal you, would have it humanely removed,” says the mailer with a picture of an amphibian. “There happens to be a toad representing you in the state Senate. We need to vote (him or her) out of office.”

Allen Roskoff, the head of the Jim Owles club, said one definition of toad is a “contemptible or detestable person.”

“They fit the definition,” Roskoff said of Sens. Diane Savino of Staten Island, Jose Peralta of Queens, Jesse Hamilton of Brooklyn, Marisol Alcantara of Manhattan and David Carlucci of Rockland County.

“They’re a disgrace to the Democratic party and must be voted out of office,” Roskoff added.

Savino shot back, calling Roskoff “a vile creature.”

“I gave up responding to Allen Roskoff a long time ago, along with a whole lot of other people,” she said. “He should examine his candidate-selection process.”

She pointed out that her primary opponent, Jasmine Robinson, initially admitted the nominating petitions she filed to get on the ballot unknowingly contained fraudulent signatures — and hasn’t filed her last two required campaign-finance filings. And Robinson made headlines when she said during a fund-raiser she wanted to grab Savino “by the hair real good” and drag her off.

“You tell me who’s the toad,” Savino said.



  1. Hon. Eric Adams
  2. George Arzt
  3. Lance Bass
  4. John Blair
  5. Mark Benoit
  6. Hon. Rodneyse Bichotte
  7. Hon. Jonathan Bing
  8. Matthew Bond
  9. Erik Bottcher
  10. Hon. Gale Brewer
  11. Danny Burstein
  12. Robin Byrd
  13. Tiffany Cabán
  14. Christian Campbell
  15. Gus Christensen
  16. Hon. Martin Connor
  17. Tom Connor
  18. Hon. Jon Cooper
  19. Wilson Cruz
  20. Hon. Laurie Cumbo
  21. Alan Cumming
  22. Michael Czaczkes
  23. Hon. Bill de Blasio
  24. Aries Dela Cruz
  25. Jon Del Giorno
  26. Kyan Douglas
  27. James Duff
  28. Hon. Ronnie Eldridge
  29. Hon. Rafael Espinal
  30. Marc Fliedner
  31. Hon. Dan Garodnick
  32. Dan Gettleman
  33. Jason Goldman
  34. Emily Jane Goodman
  35. Hon. Mark Green
  36. Tony Hoffmann
  37. Hon. Brad Hoylman
  38. Binn Jakupi
  39. Hon. Letitia James
  40. Hon. Corey Johnson
  41. Camille Joseph
  42. Phillip Keane
  43. Suzanne Kessler
  44. Yetta Kurland
  45. Dodge Landesman
  46. Hon. Melissa Mark-Viverito
  47. Phillip McCarthy
  48. Matt McMorrow
  49. Michael Mallon
  50. Mike C. Manning
  51. David Mansur
  52. Cathy Marino-Thomas
  53. Troy Masters
  54. Hon. Carlos Menchaca
  55. Hon. Rosie Mendez
  56. John Cameron Mitchell
  57. Donny Moss
  58. Barry Mullineaux
  59. Denis O'Hare
  60. America Olivo Campbell
  61. Noah Pfefferbilt
  62. Josue Pierre
  63. Bob Pontarelli
  64. Billy Porter
  65. Hon. Keith Powers
  66. Randy Rainbow
  67. Hon. Gustavo Rivera
  68. Hon. Helen Rosenthal
  69. Maer Roshan
  70. Sheila Rule
  71. Toby Russo
  72. Bill Samuels
  73. James Sansum
  74. Scott Sartiano
  75. Hon. Arthur Schwartz
  76. Lynn Schulman
  77. Cecile Scott
  78. Frank Selvaggi
  79. Rev. Al Sharpton
  80. David Siffert
  81. Hon. Jo Anne Simon
  82. Kathy Slawinski
  83. Tom Smith
  84. Anne Strahle
  85. Hon. Scott Stringer
  86. Wayne Sunday
  87. Hon. Bill Thompson
  88. JD Thompson
  89. Bjorn Thorstad
  90. Hon. Matt Titone
  91. Jessica Walter
  92. Barry Weinberg
  93. Seth Weissman
  94. Hon. Jumaane Williams
  95. Emma Wolfe
  96. Hon. Keith Wright
  97. Zephyr Teachout