Corey Johnson calls on Ruben Diaz Sr. to resign after anti-gay remarks

By Nolan Hicks and Carl Campanile
February 11, 2019

Corey Johnson (left) and Ruben Diaz Sr.
Photo by: Matthew McDermott; R. Umar Abbasi

Council Speaker Corey Johnson said Monday that Bronx Councilman Ruben Diaz Sr. should step down for making an inflammatory remark about the gay community.

“I think he should resign. It’s not up to me, but I think what he said is totally unacceptable,” Johnson said during a press briefing in Albany, where he testified on the state budget.

Diaz was quoted in an interview on a Spanish language radio program — picked up by NY1 — saying the city council is “controlled by the homosexual community.”

“And him doubling down on those comments and saying he’s the victim clearly shows how out of touch he is — no level of contrition. I think that he should resign,” said Johnson, who is openly gay.

But he said he’d leave it up to the entire council whether to strip Diaz  of his chairmanship of the taxi committee or face other punishment.

“That is a decision for the entire body. My personal viewpoint if it’s that he should resign, I think tells you what I think about everything else,” said Johnson.

Members of the Council’s LGBT and progressive caucuses — led by Queens Councilman Jimmy Van Bramer — will rally on the steps of City Hall Tuesday demanding that Diaz get out.

Mayor Bill de Blasio, who was also in Albany to testify on budget issues, said of Diaz, “Unless he apologizes, he should leave.”

“He’s been given every opportunity to apologize,” the mayor added.

City Comtproller Scott Stringer said Diaz should be stripped of his committee chairmanship and censured.

Johnson’s turn against the controversial lawmaker and minister is a far cry from 2016, when he visited Diaz in the hospital as he was wooing support to become speaker.

Diaz ended up voting for Johnson.

A leading gay activist said Johnson erred by giving Diaz a chairmanship.

“Corey never should have given Diaz the taxi committee in the first place,” said Allen Roskoff, president of the Jim Owles Democratic Club.

“Why are electeds expressing anger at Diaz Sr. after humanizing and empowering him for years. He’s said nothing new that he hasn’t said for over 30 years. They must be held accountable,” he fumed.

Earlier Monday, Gov. Andrew Cuomo said the councilman deserves to be punished for his “outrageous” statement.

“If he should be sanctioned… I think it would be justified. But it’s up to Corey Johnson,” Cuomo said.

Additional reporting by Rich Calder




  1. Hon. Eric Adams
  2. George Arzt
  3. Lance Bass
  4. John Blair
  5. Mark Benoit
  6. Hon. Rodneyse Bichotte
  7. Hon. Jonathan Bing
  8. Matthew Bond
  9. Erik Bottcher
  10. Hon. Gale Brewer
  11. Danny Burstein
  12. Robin Byrd
  13. Tiffany Cabán
  14. Christian Campbell
  15. Gus Christensen
  16. Hon. Martin Connor
  17. Tom Connor
  18. Hon. Jon Cooper
  19. Wilson Cruz
  20. Hon. Laurie Cumbo
  21. Alan Cumming
  22. Michael Czaczkes
  23. Hon. Bill de Blasio
  24. Aries Dela Cruz
  25. Jon Del Giorno
  26. Kyan Douglas
  27. James Duff
  28. Hon. Ronnie Eldridge
  29. Hon. Rafael Espinal
  30. Marc Fliedner
  31. Hon. Dan Garodnick
  32. Dan Gettleman
  33. Jason Goldman
  34. Emily Jane Goodman
  35. Hon. Mark Green
  36. Tony Hoffmann
  37. Hon. Brad Hoylman
  38. Binn Jakupi
  39. Hon. Letitia James
  40. Hon. Corey Johnson
  41. Camille Joseph
  42. Phillip Keane
  43. Suzanne Kessler
  44. Yetta Kurland
  45. Dodge Landesman
  46. Hon. Melissa Mark-Viverito
  47. Phillip McCarthy
  48. Matt McMorrow
  49. Michael Mallon
  50. Mike C. Manning
  51. David Mansur
  52. Cathy Marino-Thomas
  53. Troy Masters
  54. Hon. Carlos Menchaca
  55. Hon. Rosie Mendez
  56. John Cameron Mitchell
  57. Donny Moss
  58. Barry Mullineaux
  59. Denis O'Hare
  60. America Olivo Campbell
  61. Noah Pfefferbilt
  62. Josue Pierre
  63. Bob Pontarelli
  64. Billy Porter
  65. Hon. Keith Powers
  66. Randy Rainbow
  67. Hon. Gustavo Rivera
  68. Hon. Helen Rosenthal
  69. Maer Roshan
  70. Sheila Rule
  71. Toby Russo
  72. Bill Samuels
  73. James Sansum
  74. Scott Sartiano
  75. Hon. Arthur Schwartz
  76. Lynn Schulman
  77. Cecile Scott
  78. Frank Selvaggi
  79. Rev. Al Sharpton
  80. David Siffert
  81. Hon. Jo Anne Simon
  82. Kathy Slawinski
  83. Tom Smith
  84. Anne Strahle
  85. Hon. Scott Stringer
  86. Wayne Sunday
  87. Hon. Bill Thompson
  88. JD Thompson
  89. Bjorn Thorstad
  90. Hon. Matt Titone
  91. Jessica Walter
  92. Barry Weinberg
  93. Seth Weissman
  94. Hon. Jumaane Williams
  95. Emma Wolfe
  96. Hon. Keith Wright
  97. Zephyr Teachout