Bronx lawmaker refuses to apologize for anti-gay remarks

By Cedar Attanasio and Max Jaeger
February 10, 2019

Bronx lawmaker refuses to apologize for anti-gay remarks
Photo by Richard Harbus

City Councilmember Ruben Diaz Sr. said Sunday that he’d rather give up his powerful committee assignments than apologize to openly gay Speaker Corey Johnson for his homophobic comments.

Diaz Sr. — who was appointed by Johnson to committees on land use, public housing and transportation — again refused to apologize for saying last week that the City Council is “controlled by the homosexual community.”

Johnson is “asking for an apology, you know that,” the preacher politician Diaz told The Post outside his church.

Refusing to offer a mea culpa, Diaz added, “If he had to take away my [positions] away from me, I would understand that.”
Johnson said Sunday he is weighing his options.

“We are currently reviewing all potential disciplinary scenarios. Nothing is off the table,” Johnson said, citing Diaz’s “indefensible refusal to apologize or even acknowledge the hurt he has caused” — as well as the “many” council members who have called for Diaz Sr.’s censure or ouster.

The council’s LGBTQ Caucus and Women’s Caucus demanded his resignation in a joint statement Sunday.

But Diaz Sr. doubled down on his controversial remarks — and claimed that Albany, too, was under the “control” of the gay community.

“People don’t want me to speak the truth,” Diaz Sr. said. “They not only control City Council, they control the politics in the state.”

Meanwhile, the Stetson-hat-wearing politician, who voted to block gay marriage as a state senator, insisted that he supports Johnson, if not his lifestyle.

“How could I be homophobic when I voted for him, for Corey Johnson, to be speaker?” he said.

Diaz Sr. walked back false claims he made that Johnson was married — although he said he’d boycott the speaker’s nuptials if he ever did get hitched.

“No, no, no,” said Diaz Sr., who added that he has two gay siblings, a gay granddaughter and a gay niece. “I didn’t even go to my niece . . . my brother, I got a brother, I got [a] sister . . . I’m surrounded by gay [people].”

Committee chairs used to receive stipends of $8,000 to $20,000, giving speakers financial leverage over council members vying for the lucrative appointments. But the practice was eliminated when the body gave itself a raise in 2016.

Gay-rights leaders demanded that Johnson at least strip Diaz Sr. of his extra duties while demanding his resignation.

“This is so disrespectful and demeaning to the gay community,” said Allen Roskoff, president of the gay Jim Owles Democratic Club.

“I demand that Corey Johnson strip Díaz Sr of his committee first thing Monday morning,” Roskoff added.

Additional reporting by Carl Campanile



  1. Hon. Eric Adams
  2. George Arzt
  3. Lance Bass
  4. John Blair
  5. Mark Benoit
  6. Hon. Rodneyse Bichotte
  7. Hon. Jonathan Bing
  8. Matthew Bond
  9. Erik Bottcher
  10. Hon. Gale Brewer
  11. Danny Burstein
  12. Robin Byrd
  13. Tiffany Cabán
  14. Christian Campbell
  15. Gus Christensen
  16. Hon. Martin Connor
  17. Tom Connor
  18. Hon. Jon Cooper
  19. Wilson Cruz
  20. Hon. Laurie Cumbo
  21. Alan Cumming
  22. Michael Czaczkes
  23. Hon. Bill de Blasio
  24. Aries Dela Cruz
  25. Jon Del Giorno
  26. Kyan Douglas
  27. James Duff
  28. Hon. Ronnie Eldridge
  29. Hon. Rafael Espinal
  30. Marc Fliedner
  31. Hon. Dan Garodnick
  32. Dan Gettleman
  33. Jason Goldman
  34. Emily Jane Goodman
  35. Hon. Mark Green
  36. Tony Hoffmann
  37. Hon. Brad Hoylman
  38. Binn Jakupi
  39. Hon. Letitia James
  40. Hon. Corey Johnson
  41. Camille Joseph
  42. Phillip Keane
  43. Suzanne Kessler
  44. Yetta Kurland
  45. Dodge Landesman
  46. Hon. Melissa Mark-Viverito
  47. Phillip McCarthy
  48. Matt McMorrow
  49. Michael Mallon
  50. Mike C. Manning
  51. David Mansur
  52. Cathy Marino-Thomas
  53. Troy Masters
  54. Hon. Carlos Menchaca
  55. Hon. Rosie Mendez
  56. John Cameron Mitchell
  57. Donny Moss
  58. Barry Mullineaux
  59. Denis O'Hare
  60. America Olivo Campbell
  61. Noah Pfefferbilt
  62. Josue Pierre
  63. Bob Pontarelli
  64. Billy Porter
  65. Hon. Keith Powers
  66. Randy Rainbow
  67. Hon. Gustavo Rivera
  68. Hon. Helen Rosenthal
  69. Maer Roshan
  70. Sheila Rule
  71. Toby Russo
  72. Bill Samuels
  73. James Sansum
  74. Scott Sartiano
  75. Hon. Arthur Schwartz
  76. Lynn Schulman
  77. Cecile Scott
  78. Frank Selvaggi
  79. Rev. Al Sharpton
  80. David Siffert
  81. Hon. Jo Anne Simon
  82. Kathy Slawinski
  83. Tom Smith
  84. Anne Strahle
  85. Hon. Scott Stringer
  86. Wayne Sunday
  87. Hon. Bill Thompson
  88. JD Thompson
  89. Bjorn Thorstad
  90. Hon. Matt Titone
  91. Jessica Walter
  92. Barry Weinberg
  93. Seth Weissman
  94. Hon. Jumaane Williams
  95. Emma Wolfe
  96. Hon. Keith Wright
  97. Zephyr Teachout