Jim Owles Liberal Democratic Club
Minutes, August 14, 2018

Meeting started at 6:45 pm

Candidates Interviewed

  • Guillermo Ali Perez – 71st Assembly District
  • Robert Kesten – 40th State Senate District
  • Peter Herckham – 40th State Senate District
  • Carmen de la Roza – 72nd Assembly District
  • John Liu – 11th State Senate District


Candidates Endorsed

  • 11th State Senate District – John Liu (Unanimous)
  • 29th Assembly District – Alicia L. Hyndman (Unanimous)
  • 40th State Senate District – Tabled (61% to table, 39% opposed to tabling)
  • 72nd Assembly District – No Endorsement (72% for no endorsement, 28% in favor of Carmen de la Roza)


Motion to Rescind Endorsement in Attorney General Race

After discussion from 4 speakers in favor of rescinding the endorsement of Letitia James and 4 speakers opposed to rescinding the endorsement a motion was made and seconded to rescind the endorsement. Paper ballets were distributed and counted.

64% of votes were in favor of rescinding the endorsement, 36% were opposed to rescinding the endorsement.

The motion required a 2/3rds vote (66%) to be approved and thus failed.

Discussion Items

  • City Councilmember Richard Torres discussed several issues including the need to lobby NYS to repeal vacancy decontrol, the required priority to prevent gang violence (following a recent death in the Bronx) and changes in Bronx politics
  • City Councilmember Helen Rosenthal discussed several issues including the need to increase staffing at the Special Victims Division of the NYPD
  • Hawk Newsome from Black Lives Matter (BLM) discussed the actions taken by BLM for the anniversary of the Charlottesville white supremacy march and violence. BLM marched from NYC to Washington DC with a message of Love and promoted their “Rejuvenation” project including donating food and assisting in rebuilding in various cities they stopped along their route from NYC to Washington DC. Newsom acknowledged the participation of the Jim Owles club and that Club President Allen Roskoff spoke on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial representing the club. He also encouraged Club members to have a presence on August 17th at 9:30 at 100 Centre Street, Part B to support him in his trial regarding a recent instance of police violence against him.
  • Christine Marinoni from the Cynthia Nixon for Governor Campaign (Club Endorsed Candidate) urged club members to be involved in Cynthia Nixon’s campaign. There was some discussion regarding the campaign’s difficulty communicating with to the club, as well as appreciation expressed for the candidate’s highlighting of Progressive issues.
  • Jenna Goldsobel from the Ross Barkan for 22nd State Senate District (Club Endorsed Candidate) urged club members to volunteer in their campaign.  

Meeting was adjourned at 10:15pm



  1. Hon. Eric Adams
  2. George Arzt
  3. Lance Bass
  4. John Blair
  5. Mark Benoit
  6. Hon. Rodneyse Bichotte
  7. Hon. Jonathan Bing
  8. Matthew Bond
  9. Erik Bottcher
  10. Hon. Gale Brewer
  11. Danny Burstein
  12. Robin Byrd
  13. Tiffany Cabán
  14. Christian Campbell
  15. Gus Christensen
  16. Hon. Martin Connor
  17. Tom Connor
  18. Hon. Jon Cooper
  19. Wilson Cruz
  20. Hon. Laurie Cumbo
  21. Alan Cumming
  22. Michael Czaczkes
  23. Hon. Bill de Blasio
  24. Aries Dela Cruz
  25. Jon Del Giorno
  26. Kyan Douglas
  27. James Duff
  28. Hon. Ronnie Eldridge
  29. Hon. Rafael Espinal
  30. Hon. Alan Fleishman
  31. Marc Fliedner
  32. Hon. Dan Garodnick
  33. Dan Gettleman
  34. Jason Goldman
  35. Emily Jane Goodman
  36. Hon. Mark Green
  37. Tony Hoffmann
  38. Hon. Brad Hoylman
  39. Binn Jakupi
  40. Hon. Letitia James
  41. Hon. Corey Johnson
  42. Camille Joseph
  43. Phillip Keane
  44. Suzanne Kessler
  45. Yetta Kurland
  46. Dodge Landesman
  47. Hon. Melissa Mark-Viverito
  48. Phillip McCarthy
  49. Matt McMorrow
  50. Michael Mallon
  51. Mike C. Manning
  52. David Mansur
  53. Cathy Marino-Thomas
  54. Troy Masters
  55. Hon. Carlos Menchaca
  56. Hon. Rosie Mendez
  57. John Cameron Mitchell
  58. Donny Moss
  59. Barry Mullineaux
  60. Denis O'Hare
  61. America Olivo Campbell
  62. Noah Pfefferbilt
  63. Josue Pierre
  64. Bob Pontarelli
  65. Billy Porter
  66. Hon. Keith Powers
  67. Randy Rainbow
  68. Hon. Gustavo Rivera
  69. Hon. Helen Rosenthal
  70. Maer Roshan
  71. Sheila Rule
  72. Toby Russo
  73. Bill Samuels
  74. James Sansum
  75. Scott Sartiano
  76. Hon. Arthur Schwartz
  77. Lynn Schulman
  78. Cecile Scott
  79. Frank Selvaggi
  80. Rev. Al Sharpton
  81. David Siffert
  82. Hon. Jo Anne Simon
  83. Kathy Slawinski
  84. Tom Smith
  85. Anne Strahle
  86. Hon. Scott Stringer
  87. Wayne Sunday
  88. Hon. Bill Thompson
  89. JD Thompson
  90. Bjorn Thorstad
  91. Hon. Matt Titone
  92. Jessica Walter
  93. Barry Weinberg
  94. Seth Weissman
  95. Hon. Jumaane Williams
  96. Emma Wolfe
  97. Hon. Keith Wright
  98. Zephyr Teachout